Johnathan Thurston, Cameron Smith and Greg Inglis were unanimously selected in the NRL’s Team of the Decade.

A panel of legends that included Mal Meninga and Andrew Johns selected the best 17 from the past 10 years.

Thurston, a four-time Dally M Medal winner, led the North Queensland Cowboys to Grand Final glory in 2015 and helped them reach the same stage two years later. He got the nod at stand-off after picking up votes from all 23 legends, an honour also bestowed upon Inglis and Smith.

Inglis, who retired earlier this season, helped South Sydney Rabbitohs win the Grand Final in 2014. Hooker Smith is the league’s all-time leading appearance maker and points-scorer and is looking to guide Melbourne Storm to a fifth Grand Final of the decade.

Smith’s former Storm team-mate Cooper Cronk, a winner of last year’s Grand Final with Sydney Roosters, was selected at scrum-half. Another ex-Melbourne star Billy Slater was voted the top full-back after an NRL career that he finished second on the list of all-time try scorers.

Jarryd Hayne and Brett Morris were named as the wingers and Justin Hodges was picked at centre alongside Inglis. Matt Scott and Jesse Bromwich earned front-row spots along with Smith, with England international and Rabbitohs star Sam Burgess in the second row next to Boyd Cordner. 

Jason Taumalolo rounded off the starting 13. Paul Gallen, Sonny Bill Williams, Luke Lewis and Jamie Lyon won enough votes to claim places on the bench.