Rugby World Cup hosts Japan have named their squad for the tournament, with veteran Hiroshi Yamashita missing out but uncapped Takuya Kitade included.

Jamie Joseph announced his 31-man group for the finals on Thursday and included a number of stars of the 2015 World Cup under former boss Eddie Jones, though Yamashita was not among them.

The 33-year-old prop was one of 10 players cut from a 41-man training squad.

Yamashita went to the last World Cup in England, although he did not make it off the bench to take part in Japan’s historic defeat of South Africa.

There are several familiar faces in Joseph’s final list, though, with Michael Leitch again captaining the side.

Hooker Kitade is also selected, along with Pieter Labuschagne and James Moore, who are both relatively new to the squad having secured eligibility in June.

Japan play Russia in the opening game of this year’s edition of the competition, on September 20. Ireland, Scotland and Samoa make up the rest of Pool A.


Japan’s 31-man Rugby World Cup squad in full:

Forwards: Keita Inagaki, Yusuke Kizu, Jiwon Koo, Isileli Nakajima, Asaeli Ai Valu, Takuya Kitade, Atsushi Sakate, Shota Horie, Luke Thompson, Wimpie van der Walt, Uwe Helu, James Moore, Hendrik Tui, Yoshitaka Tokunaga, Michael Leitch, Pieter Labuschagne, Kazuki Himeno, Amanaki Lelei Mafi.

Backs: Kaito Shigeno, Fumiaki Tanaka, Yutaka Nagare, Yu Tamura, Rikiya Matsuda, Kenki Fukuoka, Ataata Moeakiola, Lomano Lava Lemeki, William Tupou, Ryoto Nakamura, Timothy Lafaele, Kotaro Matsushima, Ryohei Yamanaka.