New Zealand name six uncapped players in World Cup Nines squad


New Zealand have called up six uncapped players for the World Cup Nines in Sydney.

Parramatta Eels rookie Dylan Brown, Canberra Raiders’ Bailey Simonsson and Cronulla Sharks prop Braden Hamlin-Uele join a trio of Canterbury Bulldogs players in the 16-man selection.

Corey Harawira-Naera, Reimis Smith and Jeremy Marshall-King are the three Bulldogs to make the cut.

New Zealand Warriors also have three players in the squad, with Leeson Ah Mau, Ken Maumalo and Kodi Nikorima in the mix.

NRL Grand Final runners-up Canberra Raiders can match that tally, with Jordan Rapana and Joseph Tapine set to feature alongside Simonsson in the inaugural edition of the tournament, which begins next week.

New Zealand will face Australia, the United States and Papua New Guinea in Pool A.

New Zealand Nines squad:

Leeson Ah Mau, Dylan Brown, James Fisher-Harris, Corey Harawira-Naera, Braden Hamlin-Uele, Jamayne Isaako, Shaun Johnson, Jeremy Marshall-King, Ken Maumalo, Briton Nikora, Kodi Nikorima, Kevin Proctor, Jordan Rapana, Bailey Simonsson, Reimis Smith, Joseph Tapine.