Raheem Sterling made Premier League history during the first half of Manchester City’s game against Fulham on Saturday.

After opening the scoring in the fifth minute, Sterling drew a foul from Fulham captain Joachim Andersen to win a penalty that Kevin De Bruyne converted.

In doing so, the England winger became the first Premier League player to win 20 Premier League penalties.

Jon Moss’ decision to point to the spot edges Sterling one ahead of Jamie Vardy, who has earned 19 for Leicester City.

Wilfried Zaha is another player with a chance to reach Sterling’s mark, having won 16 – one more than the league’s all-time leading scorer Alan Shearer.

Most Premier League penalties won

20 – Raheem Sterling
19 – Jamie Vardy
16 – Wilfried Zaha
15 – Alan Shearer
14 – Andrew Johnson
13 – Luis Suarez , Gabriel Agbonlahor, Emile Heskey
12 – Freddie Ljungberg, Nick Barmby, Ashley Young