Shubman Gill and Mohammed Siraj will make their Test debuts as India have made four changes to their side for the Boxing Day Test against Australia.

Gill gets the nod at the MCG ahead of Prithvi Shaw, who failed twice at the top of the order in an embarrassing defeat in the first Test at Adelaide Oval.

Seamer Siraj comes into the attack after Mohammed Shami suffered a fractured right arm in the opening match of the series, which Australia won by eight wickets following the tourists’ capitulation to their lowest ever Test total of 36 all out in the second innings

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja were also named in the team on the eve of the match.

Pant comes in for Wriddhiman Saha, while spinner Jadeja’s selection gives stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane a five-man attack to call upon. 

Rahane steps in to lead India for the remainder of the series after Virat Kohli returned home for the birth of his first child.

Australia are set to be unchanged as they bid to take a 2-0 lead.


India team:

Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.